Urban Liner: Culinary School in Merida, Spain – Helena Rong

The Slaugherhouse of Spectacle, Buenos Aires, Argentina – Anthony Ko

Plan of Public Bathhouse, Bronx, New York – Daniel Hall Cooper

/ Awards

KPF Announces Winners of the Kohn Pedersen Fox Traveling Fellowship 2016

The three winners of 2016 KPF Traveling Fellowship were selected by jury on April 20 at KPF’s New York office.

The winners are Daniel Hall of The Cooper Union, Helena Rong of Cornell University, and Anthony Ko of The Architectural Association. Each will be awarded $8,000 to fund summer travel and an additional $2,000 after turning in a report about their experience. Honorable mentions went to Jiwon Lee of the Architectural Association, Zheng Xin of Tongji University, and Brittany Duguay of University of Virginia, who will each receive congratulations and $1,000.

The jury included Nader Tehrani, Dean of Cooper Union and Principal, NADAAA; Sara Goldhagen, Author and Architectural Critic; Andres Jaque, Professor at Columbia University GSAAP; and James von Klemperer, President of KPF.

Each year, Kohn Pedersen Fox presents awards to students who are in their penultimate year at one of the twenty-six design schools with whom KPF has chosen to partner. The goal of the award is to allow students to broaden their education through a summer of travel before their final year at school.