Mackenzie Muhonen

Eric J Hsu

Eduardo Martinez-Mediero

/ News / Awards

KPF Announces Winners of 2018 Traveling Fellowship

The three winners of the 2018 Kohn Pedersen Fox Traveling Fellowship were selected by jury on April 26 at the firm’s New York office.

The winners are Eric J Hsu of Rice University, Mackenzie Muhonen of MIT, and Eduardo Martinez-Mediero Rubio of Harvard GSD. Each will be awarded $8,000 to fund summer travel and an additional $2,000 after turning in a report about their experience.

The jury comprised Andrea Simitch, Chair of the Department of Architecture at Cornell; Kiel Moe, Associate Professor of Architecture and Energy at Harvard GSD; Inaqui Carnicero of Columbia University GSAPP and Rica Studio; and Hana Kassem and Rob Whitlock, Principals at KPF.

Each year, Kohn Pedersen Fox presents awards to students who are in their penultimate year at one of the twenty-seven design schools with whom KPF has chosen to partner. The goal of the award is to allow students to broaden their education through a summer of travel before their final year at school.

For more information about the fellowship, visit the Responsibility page.