‹ return to community page


KPF Travelling Fellowship
The three winners of the KPF Traveling Fellowship 2014 were announced during an evening event held April 22nd at KPF’s New York office. The evening session began with a short talk by each invited juror on their current work and closed with the announcement of winners and comments by jury members on the winning portfolios and others of note.

The winners are Lily C. Wong (Columbia University), Kevin Murray (Harvard), and Joanie Tom (Harvard). Each will be awarded $8,000 to fund summer travel and an additional $2,000 after turning in a report about their work. In addition, Kordae Henry (University of Pennsylvania) was awarded an Honorable Mention and Huang Yijie (Tongji University), China was awarded a Merit of Commendation.

The jury included Winka Dubbeldam, Chair and Professor of Architecture, University of Pennsylvania and Principal, Archi-tectonics Architecture; Cathleen McGuigan, Editor-in-Chief, Architectural Record; Eric Höweler, Assistant Professor of Architecture, Harvard University and Principal, Höweler + Yoon Architecture LLP; and James von Klemperer and Brian Girard , both Principals at KPF.

The jurors commented on the high quality of submitted work. Jurors noted that by soliciting portfolios from many different schools, it is possible to see a cross section of the discipline, the profession, and the discourse of current architecture. This year, jurors were particularly interested in students who “are starting to develop their own style and personality in writing, drawing, and designing.” The portfolios selected represent that range, “creating space in interesting ways” and showing “nice thinking, original detail, and beautiful presentation.” The chosen portfolios were not solely about form, space, texture and light but also about social organization and sustainability. Each year, Kohn Pedersen Fox awards three travel grants to students who are in their penultimate year at one of twenty-six design schools. The goal of the award is to allow students to broaden their education through a summer of travel before their final year at school.

2014 winners:

Selections from Lily C. Wong’s Portfolio
Selections from Kevin Murray’ Portfolio
Selections from Joanie Tom’s Portfolio
Selections from Kordae Henry’s Portfolio
Selections from Huang Yijie’s Portfolio

Back to Community